Michael of St. Joseph 🖊️

storywritingweb

#storywritingweb

My name is Michael and I am from St. Joseph. I like stories...

This week I’m here to unravel the web of connections in Kara no Kyoukai, or, The Garden of Sinners. A series of supernatural semi-horror seinen movies that revolve around a trio of paranormal investigators solving murder mysteries. It’s based on light novels written and set in 1990’s Japan. A visceral, often disturbing series that I feel only truly crosses the line a couple times in its impressive 8 movie length. The 5th movie subtitled, “Paradox Spiral,” I see as the absolute peak of the series and one of the most mature, patient, and rewarding movies I’ve ever seen.

Read more...

#storywritingweb

My name is Michael and I am from St. Joseph. I like stories.

This week I’m here to unravel the web of connections in Arcane, the latest and greatest of a growing list of quality video game adapted animated features. When I say greatest, I truly mean it. The narrative of this clockwork science fantasy story is so tightly woven I almost choked on the threads. But I was saved by the ensemble cast of characters who clawed their way out, each on a desperate bid for survival. Episode 1 titled, “Welcome to the Playground” will be our primary subject of focus simply because I couldn’t find a foothold anywhere else in the series that wouldn’t have me talking for hours on end.

Read more...

#storywritingweb

My name is Michael and I am from St. Joseph. I like stories...

This week I’m here to unravel the web of connections in Ergo Proxy, a post-apocalyptic philosophical science-fiction mystery set in a dead world. A dead world barely populated with test-tube humans relegated to dystopian dome-cities, their entourage robots known as AutoReivs, and the elusive god-like creatures called Proxies. Episode 13 titled, “Wrong Way Home” stood out to me the first time I watched this show about 10 years ago and it has stuck with me upon re-watch. I would like to go scene by scene and analyze this episode to explain why it is so well written and share the love I have for this mid-2000’s punk anime original.

Read more...